CDFI Research Consortium

CDFI Research Consortium

convening hero image

The Center for Impact Finance has launched a groundbreaking CDFI research consortium to convene CDFI practitioners, intermediaries, policy

groups, funders, government entities, and academic institutions to define and drive an industry-wide community finance research agenda.

The Consortium defines key research questions; promotes rigorous, credible, and relevant research; increases knowledge in the field; and provides funders, practitioners, and policymakers the information they need to support access to affordable, responsible financial products and services for low-income, low-wealth, and other disadvantaged people and communities.

Follow us here and on LinkedIn for updates on the Research Consortium's research agenda, products, and other relevant news.

Funding for the Consortium and research awards comes from Citi Foundation's Community Finance Innovation Fund, which selected 12 organizations to collectively receive $50 million to advance the field of community finance and create a positive impact on low-income communities and communities of color. Learn more about the Finance Innovation Fund.

Questions? Contact Hannah Vargason

  • Michael Swack – Director, Center for Impact Finance
  • Hannah Vargason –Finance Research Fellow, Center for Impact Finance

Term: July 2023 - June 2026 (3 years)


  • Marla bilonick – National Association for Latino Community Asset Builders (NALCAB)
  • Michael Butchko – NeighborWorks america
  • mark cassell – kent state university
  • chrystel cornelius – oweesta
  • amanda devaul-fetters – trufund
  • Michael Eggleston – Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis*
  • David Greenberg – local initiatives support corporation (lisc)
  • ryan gremillion – african american alliance of cdfi ceos (the alliance)
  • cathi kim – inclusiv
  • claire kramer mills – federal reserve bank of new york
  • shannon mckay – cdfi fund, u.s. department of treasury
  • nadav orian peer – university of colorado
  • david reese – college of coastal georgia*
  • marc schneiberg – reed college*
  • karen seabury – aeris
  • adrienne smith – opportunity finance network (ofn)*
  • brett theodos – urban institute
  • eugenia vivanco – raza development fund*
  • stephanie yates – university of alabama birmingham*
*Executive committee member